Last Updated: May 26, 2014
Finding Chemistry Journals and Articles
We're here to help!
Librarians are available at the Reference Desk during the following times.
- 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
- 8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
- 1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.
Phone: (920) 832-6752
Website: The Library
Search LUCIA using the Guided Search option. Search for chemistry and set the Material type to Serials. You will get a list of our paper and electronic subscriptions.
Try looking at the Journals link from the library home page and use these:
- FindIt: search for specific titles. Locates paper journals in the library and electronic full text from a number of our databases.
- e-Journal Find: the category browse lets you look for journals in chemistry.
The best index to use will depend on your topic. Be sure to check the
Electronic Resources page for other options.
Once you have a citation for an article on your topic, try using the button. If you don't find it, you can submit a request for interlibrary loan (ILL) of a copy of the article: ILL takes about 7-10 days, so plan ahead. See the library's Interlibrary Loan page for more information.
Don't forget that the library still receives a significant number of publications in paper; these are housed on Level A (between the first and second floors of the library). You will want to search the library catalog for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) to see if the library owns the volume you need.
Go to the Electronic Resources page. There is a long list of databases. You may want to go directly to the list of databases for the Sciences. A few to try include these:
- Academic OneFile
Check the items listed on the Academic Journals tab.
- Academic Search Premier
In this database you can use the form to the right of the results to limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
- Current Chemical Reactions
"Contains single- and multi-step new synthetic methods taken from leading journals and patents from 36 issuing authorities."
- Index Chemicus
"Contains the structures and critical supporting data for novel organic compounds reported in leading international journals. It is a vital source of new information on biologically active compounds and natural products."
- Science Citation Index
A multi-disciplinary citation index in the sciences.
- SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder is a web-based interface for searching the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. SciFinder is only available for current Lawrence faculty, students, and staff.
Some resources on the open web may be helpful. See the guide to Open Access Articles and Databases for more.
- DOAJ- Directory of Open Access Journals
"Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages."
- HighWire Press
A large repository for both subscription and open access journal articles. Linking to the library's subscription journals is provided. Areas covered include: biological sciences, medical sciences, and physical sciences.
"The most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web." Allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
- Google Scholar
If you're going to Google, do it here. Look for he label Full Text @LU to locate things that might be available here.