Using HRAF
This is the "Articles" page of the "Anthropology 501: Research Questions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology 501: Research Questions  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/anth501 Print Guide

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Locating Articles

The best index to use will depend on your topic. Be sure to check the Electronic Resources page for other options.

Once you have a citation for an article on your topic, try using the Find it @ LU link or search Citation Linker to see if that particular article is available. If you don't find it, you can submit a request for interlibrary loan (ILL) of a copy of the article: ILL takes about 7-10 days, so plan ahead. See the library's Interlibrary Loan page for more information.

Don't forget that the library still receives a significant number of publications in paper; these are housed on Level A (between the first and second floors of the library). You will want to search the library catalog for the title of the journal or book (not the title of the article or chapter) to see if the library owns the volume you need.

Essential Indexes

The following are important databases from the library for finding advanced secondary materials. Other indexes which might be appropriate include Psychological Abstracts or America; History and Life. Check with a librarian if you aren't sure where to start.

You may also want to browse some of the library's anthropology journals. The titles of these can be found by searching for subjects like anthropology--periodicals or by an advanced keyword search in subject for anthropolog? AND periodicals.

  • Anthropology Plus
    A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource offers access to citations that cover articles published from the early 19th century to the present, in multiple languages.
  • AnthroSource
    AnthroSource offers access to searchable full text of major journals published by the American Anthropological Association, plus a complete electronic archive of AAA journals.

Citation Searching

Citation indexes allow you to search for articles and books using keywords, but more importantly they help you find out how often and where particular works have been cited in other authors' bibliographies.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    Provides access to indexing for important titles in various disciplines over the past ten years. Author abstracts are provided for more than half of the articles included.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    A multi-disciplinary citation index in the social sciences. The social science counterpart to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Related & Multidisciplinary Indexes

These include citations and some full text of materials from a broad variety of fields. Some provide full text of materials. Topics covered include literature, history, current news articles, and reviews of books and motion pictures.

  • Sociological Abstracts
    Abstracts and indexes international literature in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Academic OneFile
    From Gale; academic and general publications back to 1980.
  • Academic Search Premier
    A multi-disciplinary database which offers full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Access provided through BadgerLink.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Current news and full-text periodicals and magazines. You can use the Browse function to locate publications worldwide.
  • Google Scholar
    If you're going to Google, do it here. Look for the label Full Text @LU to locate things that might be available here.

Full Text

Be aware that the sources listed above under Multidisciplinary Indexes include many more titles, additional full text, and will link to articles in both Project Muse and JSTOR (compare).

  • Project Muse
    Online full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes hundreds of titles dating back to the early 1990s, with many links to JSTOR for older articles.
  • JSTOR
    Archival online full-text journals covering many academic subjects. Coverage ranges back into the 1800s up to recent years; generally the most current two to five years are not included.
 

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides access to materials needed for academic research that are not accessible through the Seeley G. Mudd Library. This service is available to all students, staff, and faculty of the Lawrence University community at no charge.

Log in here to your Interlibrary Loan account with your Lawrence University username and password.

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip