This is the "Online Sources" page of the "Music History 491: Introduction to World Music and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music History 491: Introduction to World Music and Culture  

Last Updated: Jan 21, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/muhi491 Print Guide

Online Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Kemenche

The kemençe ("kemenche" in English orthography) is a three-stringed Turkish bowed lute.
(Courtesy of the Virtual Instrument Museum)

 

Instruments

The Virtual Instrument Museum is an online museum of the World Musical Instrument Collection of the Music Department of Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut.

This collection contains detailed descriptions, and some images and sound examples.

The Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument Collection at the University Libraries at the University of Washington is a browsable, searchable database of high quality images, sound files and video files.

 

Ethnomusicology

The EVIA (Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis) Digital Archive Project is a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan to establish a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.

 

Wisconsin Contacts

The FolkLib Index is a sort-of compendium of folk music and musicians. Go to the "Wisconsin Artists" link. Use the "Find" Function to search for "Appleton (note: the "a" must be capitalized.) Here you will find MANY Lawrence grads! Some people/groups also have a discography link where you MAY find contact information.

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip