This is the "Examples and More" page of the "Writing an Annotated Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing an Annotated Bibliography  

Suggestions on researching and writing an annotated bibliography, with examples.
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/annotated Print Guide

Examples and More Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Other Guides to Writing Annotated Bibliographies

Claremont Graduate University Writing Center: Writing Annotated Bibliographies

California Polytechnic State University at San Luis Obispo: Write an Annotated Bibliography

Cornell University: How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

Earlham College Libraries: How to Write Annotations

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab: Annotated Bibliographies

University of California--Santa Cruz Library: Write an Annotated Bibliography

University of Toledo Library: Writing an Annotated Bibliography

UW-Madison's Writing Center: Annotated Bibliography. The parts of this guide on content and style are particularly useful.

 

Examples of Annotated Bibliographies

The examples provided here have been selected to give you a sense of the variety possible in the structure and writing of annotated bibliographies. To find additional examples, you might want try a Browse Search of the library catalog by subject for a subject of interest to you, and look for the subheading bibliography, for example, english literature--bibliography.

Bird Kills at Towers and Other Human-Made Structures: An Annotated Partial Bibliography (1960-1998).
Provides a brief but helpful introduction that spells out the scope of the project and cites other related bibliographies. It incorporates a wide variety of materials, and lists them all alphabetically by author. Of the examples listed here, it uses the most strictly academic citation style for the materials it lists. Stylistically, it includes a mix of sentences and phrases.

A Guide to World War II Materials
This is a good example of a selective bibliography that includes links to resources on a topic that can be found on one specific website, in this case, links on World War II found at the Library of Congress web site. In terms of style, the annotations are fairly brief and consist of both sentences and phrases.

Baseball and Jackie Robinson
In this bibliography, the materials selected are grouped by type of material--encyclopedias, pictorial works, works for young readers--as well by different subjects and time periods. The writing style is a mix of sentences and phrases.

Pony Express
Although described as an annotated bibliography, this may not appear at first glance to be one. The text is written in paragraphs rather than in entries, and is what some might call a literature review or a bibliographic essay. It is particularly interesting for the history it provides not only of the Pony Express, but also of the history of the study of the Pony Express.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Gretchen Revie
Contact Info
Library 127
Phone: (920) 832-6730
Send Email
 

Acknowledgements

Thanks to Gina Bloom, Derek Katz, and Tim Spurgin for their ideas and suggestions.

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip