Papers and Databases from the Library and from the Web
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2017
In addition to the sources here, take a look at the Electronic Resources pages on News & Newspapers and Primary Sources.
- Accessible Archives
Contains full text of leading historical American periodicals and books from the 19th century. Includes complete contents of numerous works including The Liberatore, Godey's Lady's Book, county histories, and African American newspapers like The North Star.
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998
African American history, culture, and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
Indexes journals and newspapers covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Covers 1960-1990.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes coverage ranging from 1690 to 1922.
- New York Times (1851-2013)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More recent issues can be found in Academic OneFile and Lexis-Nexis.
- Newspaper Archive
Lets you browse or search thousands of hard-to-find newspapers, including historic and international titles. Access provided through BadgerLink.
- Times of London Digital Archive (1785-2012)
A searchable archive of millions of articles from this major publication.
In addition to the titles listed below, we own microfilm copies of The New York Times and Times of London. You can search the library's catalog for more newspaper titles.