Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017
To find books in the library on the fine arts, try the following call number ranges and locations:
General Fine Arts:
N call numbers, 3rd floor
Art & Art History:
N-NX call numbers, 3rd floor
GV call numbers, 4th floor
Theatre Arts & Film:
PN call numbers, 3rd floor
These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.
Select internet resources chosen by the reference staff for the relevant coverage they provide. These sites are freely available both on and off campus.
Please note that while the databases listed below by subject area may be vital to your research, other databases on the General and Multidisciplinary page may also be useful.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A citation index to arts and humanities journals.
- Current Contents Connect
Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books. From the search page you can select from among the various editions for sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Archival online full-text journals covering many academic subjects.
- Project Muse
Online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
- Art & Architecture Source
Leading publications in the world of the arts.
Thousands of images from major collections of art, sculpture, architecture, and other visual media.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Includes material published between 1975 and 2007. Covers visual arts in all media including traditional fine arts, decorative and applied arts, material culture, photography and contemporary media, and visual arts aspects of performing arts.
- Oxford Art Online
Home of Grove Art Online and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and products online.
- Academic Video Online
A collection of thousands of videos with searchable transcripts synchronized to video. The collection includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries. Includes streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
In addition to the resources listed here, be sure to take a look at those listed for Languages & Literature and Music.
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
More than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation's premiere radio theatre company. The plays are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
- Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming videos of theatre productions, interviews, and analysis.
- Film & Television Literature Index
Includes indexing and full text for selected books and periodicals on film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Film Literature Online
Indexes film and television periodicals. Material included dates from 1976-2001.
- Met Opera on Demand
Provides streaming access to the best of the Metropolitan Opera, in both audio and video formats.
- MLA Bibliography
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film, folklore, and more.