Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017
To find books in the library on the music, try the following call number ranges and locations:
Scores: M call numbers, 1st floor
Music Education: MT call numbers, 3rd floor
Music History & Theory: ML call numbers, 3rd floor
For even more resources in music, see the library's Music page. It includes links to sources for free scores and more.
These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.
Please note that while the databases listed below by subject area may be vital to your research, other databases on the General and Multidisciplinary page may also be useful.
- Academic Video Online
A collection of thousands of videos with searchable transcripts synchronized to video. The collection includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries. Also includes over five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
- Daniels' Orchestral Music Online
An online version of the classic repertoire reference work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists throughout the world.
A scholarly collection of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes, and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Full text and recordings from this important ten-volume set covering music from cultures around the world.
- Grove Music Online
The full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
- IPA Source
IPA Source is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. It contains over 5,000 texts including aria texts.
- Met Opera on Demand
Provides streaming access to the best of the Metropolitan Opera, in both audio and video formats.
- Music & Performing Arts
Streaming recordings and biographies from Alexander Street Press.
- Music Index
Contains indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for hundreds of periodicals.
- Musicians Necrology
Index to obituaries in the world of music.
- Musical America
The business source for the performing arts.
- Naxos Music Library
A streaming audio service comprised of over 1.5 million recordings, over 100,000 albums and over 700 labels. Many works available in multiple performances, from multiple labels, and from different eras. Includes music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information; libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas and more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies.
- Oxford History of Western Music
"An unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin."
- Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music and other resources.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
International index to the literature of music. Documents date back as far as the 18th century.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions complete with sound recordings.