This is the "Humanities" page of the "Electronic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/elecres Print Guide

Humanities Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More in the Library

To find books in the library on the different disciplines within the humanities, try the following call number ranges and locations:

Classics & Philosophy: B-BD, BH-BJ, PA call numbers, 3rd floor

Languages & Literature: P-PZ call numbers, 3rd floor

History: D, E, F call numbers, 4th floor

Religious Studies: BL-BX call numbers, 3rd floor

Databases A-Z

These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.

      

    Quick Links to Additional Library Resources

    Free Online Resources

    Select internet resources chosen by the reference staff  for the relevant coverage they provide. These sites are freely available both on and off campus.

    General & Multidisciplinary Humanities Databases

    Please note that while the databases listed below by subject area may be vital to your research, other databases on the General and Multidisciplinary page may also be useful.

    • ABSEES
      The online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Articles, books, and more, from 1990-present.
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
      A citation index to arts and humanities journals.
    • Bibliography of Asian Studies
      Indexing of articles and book chapters, primarily in Western languages, published since 1971.
    • Book Citation Index--Social Sciences & Humanities
      Indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books with 10,000 new books added each year — from 2005 to present.
    • Conference Proceedings Citation Index--Social Science & Humanities
      Includes the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of social sciences and humanities disciplines.
    • Current Contents Connect
      Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books. From the search page you can select from among the various editions for sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
    • Handbook of Latin American Studies
      The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars and is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The multidisciplinary Handbook includes information for both the social sciences and the humanities. It has been continuously published since 1936.
    • Humanities International Complete
      Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world in the broad field of humanities. Access provided through BadgerLink.
    • JSTOR
      Archival online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
    • Project Muse
      Online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.

    Classics & Philosophy

    • L'Annee Philologique
      An index of scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome.
    • Perseus Digital Library
      An evolving digital library of resources for studying the ancient world.
    • Philosopher's Index
      A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Coverage is from 1940 to present.

    Languages & Literature

    In addition to the resources listed here, be sure to look at the section of this guide on Primary Sources and Audio & Video.

    • ARTFL
      The main database texts range from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century. Additional databases have selected works from pre-1375 to the 19th Century.
    • Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
      An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. The database allows users to search by author name, title of work, and more.
    • Early English Books Online
      125,000 titles dated from 1475-1700.
    • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
      Provides access to digital images of books published during the 18th Century. Covers history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more.
    • Literature Criticism Online
      Brings together a range of information on authors and their works. Includes material on 19th century and contemporary literature.
    • Literature Resource Center
      An extensive collection of biographical and critical information on authors and works.
    • LitFinder
      Source for poems, essays, plays, stories, speeches -- many available in full-text. Access provided through BadgerLink.
    • MLA Bibliography
      A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and more.
    • Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC)
      Provides access to commentary on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists, and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.
    • Oxford English Dictionary
      The OED is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150.
    • Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
      OLDO features words, phrases, and translations for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish, into and out of English. Audio pronunciation clips are also included for some words.

    History

    In addition to the resources listed here, be sure to look at the section of this guide on Primary Sources and Audio & Video.

    • ABSEES
      The online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Articles, books, and more, from 1990-present.
    • Academic Video Online
      A collection of thousands of videos with searchable transcripts synchronized to video. The collection includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries.
    • America: History and Life
      Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
    • Historical Abstracts
      Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
    • ITER
      Index to journals and books "pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)."

    Religious Studies

    • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
      The primary scholarly database for Religious Studies. ATLA includes indexing for over one million journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays, as well as full text to more than 285,000 articles and book reviews.
    UA-11274999-2
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip