This is the "Sciences" page of the "Electronic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/elecres Print Guide

Sciences Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More in the Library

To find books in the library on the different disciplines within the sciences, try the following call number ranges and locations:

Biology: QH-QR call numbers, 3rd floor

Chemistry: QD call numbers, 3rd floor

Environmental Studies: Q & QH call numbers, 3rd floor, and GB-GF call numbers, 4th floor

Geology: QE call numbers, 3rd floor

Mathematics: QA call numbers, 3rd floor

Databases A-Z

These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.

      

    Quick Links to Additional Library Resources

    Free Online Resources

    Select internet resources chosen by the reference staff  for the relevant coverage they provide. These sites are freely available both on and off campus.

    General & Multidisciplinary Science Databases

    Please note that while the databases listed below by subject area may be vital to your research, other databases on the General and Multidisciplinary page may also be useful.

    • arXiv.org
      Open access to nearly 700,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics. From Cornell University.
    • Book Citation Index--Science
      Indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books with 10,000 new books added each year--from 2005 to present.
    • Conference Proceedings Citation Index--Science
      Includes the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of science disciplines.
    • Current Contents Connect
      Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books. From the search page you can select from among the various editions for sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
    • Data Citation Index
      "Discover research data, including data studies and data sets from a wide range of international data repositories, and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation."
    • HighWire Press
      A large repository for both subscription and open access journal articles. Linking to the library's subscription journals is provided. Areas covered include: biological sciences, medical sciences, and physical sciences.
    • JSTOR
      Archival online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
    • Project Muse
      Online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
    • Pubget
      Search engine for .pdf documents in the life sciences.
    • Science Citation Index Expanded
      A multi-disciplinary citation index in the sciences.
    • Statistical Insight
      Statistical tables, graphs, and spreadsheets on energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, and more.
    • STN Easy
      Locates information on chemistry, engineering, patents, medicine, food and agriculture, and regulatory information. Available 5 p.m. to 5 a.m. and weekends, except from Saturday night to Sunday, early afternoon during database update hours.
    • Web of Science
      Formerly Web of Knowledge. Interface for searching all databases on Web of Science and more.

    Biology

    • AGRICOLA
      An index to all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. From the National Agricultural Library.
    • Biological Abstracts
      Biological Abstracts includes "information in virtually every life sciences discipline, including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science.
    • BioMed Central
      "BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 259 peer-reviewed open access journals."
    • BioOne
      BioOne brings together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
    • Biosis Citation Index
      "Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more."
    • Medline (Web of Science)
      The premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
    • Medline (Ebsco)
      The Ebsco version of the Medline database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
    • PubMed
      "PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites." See this fact sheet for an explanation of differences between MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central).
    • Zoological Record
      Taxonomic reference and database of animal biology.

    Chemistry

    • Current Chemical Reactions
      "Contains single- and multi-step new synthetic methods taken from leading journals and patents from 36 issuing authorities."
    • Index Chemicus
      "Contains the structures and critical supporting data for novel organic compounds reported in leading international journals. It is a vital source of new information on biologically active compounds and natural products."
    • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
      SciFinder is a web-based interface for searching the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. SciFinder is only available for current Lawrence faculty, students, and staff.
    • STN Easy
      Provides access to Chem Abstracts as well as information on chemistry, engineering, patents, medicine, food and agriculture, and regulatory information. Available 5 p.m. to 5 a.m. and weekends, except from Saturday night to Sunday, early afternoon during database update hours.

    Environmental Studies

    Please note that many areas of Environmental Studies can be found in the Biology/Life Sciences Databases located above as well as on the General and Multidisciplinary page.

    • GreenFILE
      "GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment."

    Geology

    • GeoRef
      The most comprehensive database in the geosciences.

    Mathematics

    • MathSciNet
      An electronic publication offering access to an easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
    UA-11274999-2
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip