Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2017
Databases with titles beginning in:
These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.
A number of the resources listed on these pages are provided through BadgerLink, a project of Wisconsin's Department of Public Instruction's Division for Libraries and Technology, with funding provided through the Public Service Commission Universal Service Fund.
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, 1990-present.
- Academic OneFile
From Gale; academic and general publications back to 1980.
- Academic Search Premier
Ebsco; academic and general titles back to 1975.
- Academic Video Online (VAST)
Searchable transcripts synchronized to video.
- Accessible Archives
American periodicals and books from the 19th century.
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998
African American history, culture, and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Agriculture and allied disciplines. From the National Agricultural Library.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers
- Alt HealthWatch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Alternative Press Index
Journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Covers 1991-current.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
- America: History and Life
U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera
Broadsides printed 1820 - 1900 and ephemera 1760 - 1900.
- American Civil War: Letters Diaries
Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War.
- American National Biography
Deceased American men and women from all eras and walks of life.
- American State Papers
Documents, many from between 1789 and 1817.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Coverage ranging from 1690 to 2000.
- L'Annee Philologique
Language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome.
- Anthropology Plus
Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases.
Publications of the American Anthropological Association.
- Archive of Americana
A family of historical collections.
- Art & Architecture Source
Leading publications in the world of the arts.
French literature, prose, and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Citation index to arts and humanities journals.
Images from collections of art, sculpture, architecture, and other visual media.
E-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Biology, Finance, and Statistics.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
The primary scholarly database for Religious Studies.
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
Important dramatic works in streaming audio.
- Auto Repair Reference Center
Automobile repair reference information from 1945 to the present.
Resources for Wisconsin residents.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Articles and books, primarily in Western languages, published since 1971.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
From the Getty Research Institute, includes material published 1975 - 2007.
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Indexing of entries from reference sources.
- Biological Abstracts
Information in virtually every life sciences discipline.
- BioMed Central
259 peer-reviewed open access journals.
Peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- Biosis Citation Index
Life sciences and biomedical research.
- Book Citation Index--Science
Indexes editorially selected books from 2005 to present.
- Book Citation Index--Social Sciences & Humanities
Indexes editorially selected books from 2005 to present.
- Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School Edition
Abstracts and searchable full text for more than 1,290 popular nonfiction books.
- Book Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition
Abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,440 popular nonfiction books.
- Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition
Abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books.
- Britannica Academic
Featuring Encyclopædia Britannica, web sites, news, magazines, and more.
- Business Source Premier
Coverage in all disciplines of business.
- Daniels' Orchestral Music Online
Repertoire work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists.
- Data Citation Index
Research data, data studies, and data sets from international data repositories.
- Derwent Innovations Index
- Dictionary of National Biography
People from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
- Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming videos of theatre productions, interviews, and analysis.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
- DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
Recordings from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels.
- Early American Imprints Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Documents covering all aspects of American life in the country's earliest years.
- Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Documents covering American life during the early decades of the United States.
- Early English Books Online
125,000 titles dated from 1475-1700.
Main listing of Ebsco databases.
- ECB Wisconsin Media Lab
Educational videos, images, and animations covering subject areas from math to art.
Provides access to on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software.
- Education Research Complete
Indexing, abstracts, & full text for education journals, & full text for books & monographs.
- Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational administration, leadership, management, research, and other areas.
- eHRAF Collection of Archeology
Cross-cultural database on the world's prehistory.
- eHRAF World Cultures
Cross-cultural database on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digital images of books published during the 18th Century.
- English Short Title Catalog
Includes records for over 480,000 items published between 1473 and 1800 primarily in English. Provided by the British Library
- ERIC: Education Resource Information Center
Journal articles and reports in education.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
General index with many full-text titles. A subset of Academic OneFile.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Full text and recordings from this important ten-volume set covering music from cultures around the world.
- General OneFile
News & periodical articles on a wide range of topics dating from 1980 on.
The most comprehensive database in the geosciences.
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- Grove Music Online
The full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
- Index Chemicus
Structures and critical data for novel organic compounds reported in leading journals.
- IPA Source
International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions & literal translations of arias & art song texts.
Index to journals and books "pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)."
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
Full text for high school magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and more.
- MasterFILE Premier
Full text general reference publications, periodicals, reference books, and more.
Reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences.
- Medline (Ebsco)
The Ebsco version of the Medline database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Medline (Web of Science)
The premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Met Opera on Demand
Streaming access to the best of the Metropolitan Opera, in audio and video.
- Middle Search Plus
Full text for middle school magazines and more. With reading level indicator (Lexiles).
- MLA Bibliography
Articles, books, and dissertations in literature, language, linguistics, film, folklore, and more.
- Music & Performing Arts
Streaming audio and video recordings from Alexander Street Press.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry
- Music Necrology
Index to obituaries in the world of music.
- Musical America
The business source for the performing arts.
- National Jukebox
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress.
- Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio, albums, cover information, and more.
- NBER Working Papers
- New York Times (1851-2013)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Newspaper Archive
Thousands of hard-to-find newspapers, including historic and international titles.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Indexing and some full text for national and regional newspapers.
- Newswires (AP, UPI, etc.)
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news. Includes a rolling archive.
- Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC)
Commentary on writers and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.
- North American Women's Letters & Diaries
Approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from the Colonial era to 1950.
Helps identify fiction titles by genre, interest, reading level, and more.
- NoveList K-8
Enhanced subject access for fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population.
- Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of resources for studying the ancient world.
- Philosopher's Index
Abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy, covering 1940-present.
- Population Index
An annotated bibliography of journal articles and other materials on population topics.
- Primary Search
Provides full text for magazines for elementary school research. With Lexiles.
- Professional Development Collection
A collection of education journals and reports for professional educators.
- Project Muse
Online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
Search the full text of journals published by the American Psychological Association
An index to all PsycINFO journal, book, and chapter records from 1887 to present.
Search engine for .pdf documents in the life sciences.
Over "20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE." From the NCBI
. See this fact sheet
for an explanation of differences between MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central).
- Science Citation Index Expanded
A multi-disciplinary citation index in the sciences.
- SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
Web-based interface for searching the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases.
- Serial Set Maps
Congressional images, records, and indexing for maps published between 1817-1994.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions complete with sound recordings.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
"Composed of a number of specialized networks in each of the social sciences."
- Social Sciences Citation Index
A multi-disciplinary citation index in the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes international literature in the social and behavioral sciences.
Royalty free music and sound effects library, provided through Badgerlink.
- Statistical Insight
Statistical information on environmental protection, agriculture, crime, and more.
- STN Easy
Information on chemistry, engineering, patents, medicine, food, and regulations.