This is the "University Publications" page of the "Researching Lawrence History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Lawrence History   Tags: history, lawrence university  

An introduction to sources available for researching topics related to the history of Lawrence University or Milwaukee-Downer College.
Last Updated: Jun 1, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/luhistory Print Guide

University Publications Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course catalogs

Course catalogs are the definitive sources for information about the curriculum over time. From 1850 to 1964, catalogs also contained rosters of all students in attendance. Catalogs dating from 1849 to 2008 are available in paper format in the Archives. Lawrence ceased to publish print versions of course catalogs in 2009.

A selection of digital course catalogs is available online:

 

Student publications

Lawrence students assembled and published their first yearbook in 1893 as the Lawrence Columbian Souvenir to celebrate the World Columbian Exhibition in Chicago. The yearbook known as The Ariel was first published in 1897, then published annually after 1899. Publication ceased in 2011. Some copies of yearbooks are available digitally: 1893 (Columbian Souvenir), 1901, 1906, 1908-1909, 1913-1915, 1917, 1925, 1934, 1943, 1944. Others can be consulted in the Archives and on Level A in the library.

The Lawrentian is Lawrence's student newspaper. Available digitally from 1923 to the present. Earlier issues dating back to the founding of the paper in 1884 (and predecessor papers dating back to 1867) can be used in the Archives. Some bound paper copies are also available on Level A in the library.

Tropos is Lawrence's student literary magazine, published from 1967 to the present. (The Contributor was a predecessor magazine, published from 1938 to 1966.) Recent editions of Tropos are available online. Copies are available in paper format in the Archives.

Other student publications are described here and available for use in the Archives.

 

Alumni directories

Lawrence's first alumni directory was published in 1881. Others were published in 1905, 1915, 1922, 1966, 1982, 1989, and 1997. For those years not available online, copies are available to use in the Archives and the library's reference collection.

Note: directories from 1881-1922 only include names of students who graduated from Lawrence (not those who attended without graduating.)

 

Alumni magazines

Lawrence has published alumni magazines under several titles since 1915. Paper copies are available for use in the Archives and on Level A in the library. Available digitally from 1983 to the present.

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip