An introduction to sources available for researching topics related to the history of Lawrence University or Milwaukee-Downer College.
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017
Archival records are defined as: "materials created or received by a person, family, or organization, public or private, in the conduct of their affairs that are preserved because of the enduring value contained in the information they contain or as evidence of the functions and responsibilities of their creator."
Records in the LU Archives include:
- records created by University offices and departments over time, and
- personal collections donated by alumni, faculty, and staff.
- LU People Files
Files with biographical information on people associated with LU, including administration, faculty, staff, students, and visitors to the university.
- LU Subject Files
Files assembled with information related to various activities, events, and aspects of LU over time. Includes information on Appleton, student activities, protests, and more.
- Presidential papers
Collections of correspondence, speeches, writings, and other records from Lawrence presidents dating back to Samuel Plantz (1894-1924).
- Buildings and grounds
Collections assembled with information on campus buildings (including those that no longer stand) and grounds.
- Students and campus life
Includes records of the Dean of Students Office and offices that report to the Dean of Students as well as records of student organizations and bodies of student government.
Collections donated by alumni, faculty, and staff, including scrapbooks, correspondence, journals, coursework, photographs, and more.
The holdings of the LU Archives are described in our collections database. While some digitized content is available there, most of the descriptions refer to materials that exist in physical format and that must be used in the Archives.