An introduction to sources available for researching topics related to the history of Lawrence University or Milwaukee-Downer College.
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017
Photographs can be found throughout the LU Archives collections, but the bulk of them are organized in a few collections:
- University Photographs, 1935-2009
Includes photographs used for LU publicity and publications dating from about 1935 to 2009. Photographs were taken by staff in the Office of Communications (formerly the Office of Public Affairs or the Office of Publicity and Publications) or contract photographers. Photographs are in a variety of formats. A selection of photographs in this collection are digitized - others can be used in the Archives.
- University Glass Slides Collection, 1898-1930
240 glass slides depicting primarily Lawrence University buildings, grounds, students and faculty from 1898 to about 1930.
- Chester Allen Photographs
About 90 glass negatives taken by Chester Allen, Lawrence University class of 1912.
The LU Archives holds recordings of campus events (ceremonies, speeches, arts productions, etc.) in a variety of formats. Some of these recordings can also be found by searching the library's catalog.
- University Audio Recordings, 1947-2014
Events documented include Commencement ceremonies, lecture series (including Freshman Studies lectures), reunions and other alumni gatherings, news broadcasts, Conservatory programs, and more.
- University Video Recordings, 1926-2016
Events documented include Commencement ceremonies, building dedications, lecture series, athletic events, reunions and other alumni gatherings, news broadcasts, Conservatory programs, Department of Theatre Arts productions, and more.
- Oral Histories, 2006-2012
Audio recordings of oral history interviews conducted or collected by the Lawrence University Archives from 2006 to 2012. Narrators are primarily retired faculty and staff and alumni of Lawrence or Milwaukee-Downer College.