This is the "Milwaukee-Downer College" page of the "Researching Lawrence History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Lawrence History   Tags: history, lawrence university  

An introduction to sources available for researching topics related to the history of Lawrence University or Milwaukee-Downer College.
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/luhistory Print Guide

Milwaukee-Downer College Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books about Milwaukee-Downer

  • The Milwaukee-Downer Woman
    By Lynne Kleinman, 1997. 60 pages.
    A monograph based on the author's doctoral dissertation from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1991. It focuses on the period from 1895 to 1921 during Ellen Sabin's presidency, but includes some discussion of the years up to the 1964 consolidation with Lawrence. Footnotes not included. Available digitally.
  • Prelude to Merger...
    By Sherwin Howard, 1980. 252 pages.
    A doctoral dissertation on the consolidation of Lawrence and Milwaukee-Downer Colleges. Footnotes included. The library has 1 copy available to check out.
  • The History of Milwaukee-Downer College, 1851-1951
    By Grace Kieckhefer, 1950. 124 pages.
    A history of Milwaukee-Downer published in honor of its centennial in 1951. Footnotes not included. Available digitally.
  • The History of Downer College
    By H. A. Miner, 1920. 48 pages.
    A history of Downer College in Fox Lake, Wisconsin - one of Milwaukee-Downer's two predecessor institutions. Footnotes not included. The library has 2 copies available to check out.
  • Annals of Milwaukee College, 1848-1891
    By William Wight, 1891. 49 pages.
    A history of Milwaukee College - one of Milwaukee-Downer's two predecessor institutions. Footnotes not included. Available digitally.

MDC archival collections

The LU Archives houses a large set of collections documenting Milwaukee-Downer College - almost 200 boxes, plus 300 bound volumes of material - that are open for research. (Another collection of MDC records is owned by the Wisconsin Historical Society and held at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Archives.) MDC collections in the LU Archives include:

  • MDC Records
    Includes primarily college records that were transferred to Lawrence with the 1964 consolidation.
  • MDC People Files
    Files documenting people associated with Milwaukee-Downer College or either of its predecessors, Milwaukee Female College and Downer College.
  • MDC Subject Files
    Files documenting various activities, events, and aspects of MDC over time.
  • MDC Manuscripts
    Collections donated by alumni, faculty, and staff of MDC, including scrapbooks, correspondence, journals, coursework, photographs, and more.
  • Lawrence and MDC Consolidation Collection
    Records assembled to document the 1964 consolidation of Milwaukee-Downer College with Lawrence College to form Lawrence University.
 

MDC publications

Course catalogs are the definitive sources for information about the curriculum over time. Catalogs dating from 1896 to 1963 are available in paper format in the Archives. A selection of digitized course catalogs is available online: 1897-1905, 1909-1910, and 1917.

The student yearbook at MDC was called the Cumtux, published from 1898 to 1962. Copies are available in paper format in the Archives. A selection of digitized yearbooks is available online: 1898, 1899, 1903, 1909, 1918, and 1919.

MDC students published a quarterly literary magazine, The Kodak, from 1891 to 1964. Copies are available in paper format in the Archives.

MDC students published a newspaper beginning in 1944. (The Kodak served as the primary source for campus news prior to this time.) From 1944 through 1964, the Milwaukee-Downer College student newspaper was variously known as The Snapshot, Snapshot-Kodak, The Downer Dial, or The Dial. Copies are available digitally here.

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip