Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017
For more audio and video recordings, take a look at the media collections on the library's first floor.
These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.
In addition to the resources listed here, take a look at those listed for Languages and Literature.
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
More than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation's premiere radio theatre company. The plays are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
"A scholarly collection of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings and other important labels."
- Met Opera on Demand
Provides streaming access to the best of the Metropolitan Opera, in both audio and video formats. Audio recordings are highlighted toward the bottom of the homepage, and include radio broadcasts dating back to a January 11, 1936 performance of Götterdämmerung.
- Music & Performing Arts
Streaming recordings and biographies from Alexander Street Press.
- National Jukebox
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress.
- Naxos Music Library
A streaming audio service comprised of over 1.5 million recordings, over 100,000 albums and over 700 labels. Many works available in multiple performances, from multiple labels, and from different eras. Includes music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information; libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas and more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions complete with sound recordings.
Royalty free music and sound effects library, provided through Wisconsin Public Television.
- Academic Video Online
A collection of thousands of videos with searchable transcripts synchronized to video. The collection includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, dance, opera, and documentaries.
- Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming videos of theatre productions, interviews, and analysis.
- Met Opera on Demand
Provides streaming access to the best of the Metropolitan Opera, in both audio and video formats.