Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017
These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998
African American history, culture, and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes coverage ranging from 1690 to 2000.
- New York Times (1851-2013)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More recent issues can be found in Academic OneFile and LexisNexis.
- Newspaper Archive
Lets you browse or search thousands of hard-to-find newspapers, including historic and international titles. Access provided through BadgerLink.
- Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985)
A searchable archive of millions of articles from this major publication.
The main database texts range from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century. Additional databases have selected works from pre-1375 to the 19th Century.
- Early English Books Online
125,000 titles dated from 1475-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Full-text images of books published during the 18th Century. Covers history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more.
- English Short Title Catalog
Includes records for over 480,000 items published between 1473 and 1800 primarily in English. Provided by the British Library
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- Accessible Archives
Contains full text of leading historical American periodicals and books from the 19th century. Includes complete contents of numerous works including The Liberatore, Godey's Lady's Book, county histories, and African American newspapers like The North Star.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera
"Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900."
- American Civil War: Letters Diaries
Full-text of "approximately 100,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs" from the American Civil War.
- American State Papers
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
- Archive of Americana
A family of historical collections that contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Collections include America's Historical Imprints, America's Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, and the U.S. Congressional Serials Set to 1980, as well as Serial Set Maps.
Images from collections of art, sculpture, architecture, and other visual media. Although not documents in the traditional sense these items can be of significance as primary sources.
- Early American Imprints Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Documents covering all aspects of American life in the country's earliest years.
- Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Documents covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- Found in Wisconsin
An online collections index to digitized books, photographs, videos, and other resources available on the websites of libraries, historical societies, and museums statewide.
- HeritageQuest Online
Provides access to genealogical materials including images of pages from the U.S. Census from 1790-1930. Access provided through BadgerLink.
Source for poems, essays, plays, stories, speeches -- many available in full-text. Access provided through BadgerLink.
- North American Women's Letters & Diaries
Full text of approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from the Colonial era to 1950.
- Perseus Digital Library
Originally focused on the classical world, Perseus now includes texts relevant to the history of other places and eras.
- Recollection Wisconsin
Provides access to digitized materials from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies across Wisconsin.
- Serial Set Maps
Covering years of publication: 1817-1994. Map images, records, and indexing for maps published in Reports and Documents of the 15th Congress, 1st Session through the 103rd Congress, 2nd session.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The Serial Set consists of sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and constitutes a rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Coverage dates from 1817-1980.
- Wisconsin Digital Archives
Provided by the Wisconsin Document Depository Program. A growing collection of electronic state documents available in full-text.
- Women Writers Online
Full text collection of writing by women covering a period from 1400 to 1850. Produced as part of the Women Writers Project