This is the "Social Sciences" page of the "Electronic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Catalogs, indexes, and reference sources licensed and provided by the library and available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/elecres Print Guide

Social Sciences Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More in the Library

To find books in the library on the different disciplines within the social sciences, try the following call number ranges and locations:

Anthropology: GF-GT call numbers, 4th floor

Economics: HB-HJ call numbers, 4th floor

Education: L call numbers, 4th floor

Government: J call numbers, 4th floor

Psychology: BF call numbers, 3rd floor

Databases A-Z

These resources are available to anyone on campus. Current faculty, staff, and students may also use these resources from off-campus.

      

    Quick Links to Additional Library Resources

    Free Online Resources

    Select internet resources chosen by the reference staff  for the relevant coverage they provide. These sites are freely available both on and off campus.

    General & Multidisciplinary Social Science Databases

    Please note that while the databases listed below by subject area may be vital to your research, other databases on the General and Multidisciplinary page may also be useful.

    • Book Citation Index--Social Sciences & Humanities
      Indexes over 30,000 editorially selected books with 10,000 new books added each year--from 2005 to present.
    • Conference Proceedings Citation Index--Social Science & Humanities
      Includes the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of social sciences and humanities disciplines.
    • Current Contents Connect
      Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books. From the search page you can select from among the various editions for sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
    • Data Citation Index
      "Discover research data, including data studies and data sets from a wide range of international data repositories, and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation."
    • Handbook of Latin American Studies
      The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars and is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The multidisciplinary Handbook includes information for both the social sciences and the humanities. It has been continuously published since 1936.
    • ICPSR
      ICPSR maintains a data archive of hundreds of thousands of files of research in the social sciences. It hosts specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
    • JSTOR
      Archival online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      Searches news, legal cases, companies, countries, and more.
    • Population Index
      Published from 1937-1999, Population Index was an annotated bibliography of published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. Searchable through JSTOR. Population Index on the Web offers a good search interface for content from 1986-2000.
    • Project Muse
      Online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
    • Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
      "Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences." Indexes many publications, including journals, and provides hundreds of thousands of free full-text publications.
    • Social Sciences Citation Index
      A multi-disciplinary citation index in the social sciences.
    • Sociological Abstracts
      Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Topics include: culture and social structure, economic development, management and complex organizations, and more.
    • Statistical Insight
      Find data on a wide variety of subjects such as national income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, and more.

    Anthropology

    • Anthropology Plus
      A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource offers access to citations that cover articles published from the early 19th century to the present, in multiple languages.
    • AnthroSource
      "An online service of American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline."
    • eHRAF Collection of Archeology
      eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. Organized by archaeological traditions, the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
    • eHRAF World Cultures
      eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Full-text sources are indexed at the paragraph level.

    Economics

    Education

    For additional sources that will help with developing K-12 curriculum materials, please see the BadgerLink homepage and consult a reference librarian.

    • Education Research Complete
      Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for education journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Access provided through BadgerLink.
    • Educational Administration Abstracts
      Covers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Access provided through BadgerLink.
    • ERIC: Education Resource Information Center
      Journal articles and reports in education.
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts-LISTA
      Journal articles and more on all aspects of librarianship.
    • Professional Development Collection
      Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of education journals and educational reports. Access provided through BadgerLink.
    • RCL: Resources for College Libraries
      A list of core print and electronic resources for academic libraries, featuring over 85,000 titles in 117 subjects. A product of the Association for College and Resource Libraries Choice publication and ProQuest.

    Government

    • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
      (1976 to present)
      Covers electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government dating from July 1976 to the present.
    • Congressional Publications
      Congressional materials and legislative histories available through abstracts, titles, indexing information and other bibliographic data. Covers 1969 to present.
    • World Wide Political Science Abstracts
      The database contains citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

    Psychology

    • PsycArticles
      Search the full text of journals published by the American Psychological Association.
    • PsycInfo
      An index to all PsycINFO journal, book, and chapter records from 1887 to present. Includes content from the smaller PsycArticles.
    UA-11274999-2
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip