This is the "Home" page of the "Film Studies 211: Film History II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies 211: Film History II  

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/fist211 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Background

In addition to the titles listed here, you should browse the reference collection on the library's first floor in the call number range beginning with PN 199X. The PN 199X range up in the main collection is another good place to browse.

  • Chambers Film Factfinder
    Provides information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century.
  • Credo Reference
    Provides hundreds of reference titles covering a wide range of subjects. Includes full text, images, sound files, maps and more.
  • Literature Resource Center
    An extensive collection of biographical and critical information on authors and works.
  • Magill's Cinema Annual
    Plot summaries, criticism, and lists of reviews of films dating from historical titles up to 2014.
    Ref. PN1993.45 .M35

    See also Magill's Survey of Cinema, Series I and Series II at Ref. PN1993.45 .M3 and Ref. PN 1993.M32
 

Finding Books in LUCIA

To find items owned by the library, search LUCIA. Try Title begins with, Author, Subject begins with or Keyword Anywhere searching. Subject begins with and Keyword Anywhere may be particularly useful for your research.

Books are arranged on the library's shelves by Library of Congress Classification. This is a system which organizes materials by general subjects. Once you have a call number from searching LUCIA, see this guide to call number locations at Mudd and the library floor maps to find out where a book might be on the shelves.

Search LUCIA for materials in our library; try WorldCat to find materials beyond the Mudd. Make sure you've thoroughly searched our library before going to WorldCat. See a reference librarian if you need help.

 

Subject Searching in LUCIA

Try a Subject begins with search for an event, an historical period, a person, and idea, or a concept, or more. LUCIA will list other subject headings (and subheadings) which may be of interest. For advanced research you should consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings, or LCSH, a guide to the terms commonly used in catalogs like ours. The LCSH can be found behind the reference desk on the first floor of the library. You can also consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings online. Some subjects of interest include

  • Motion pictures
  • Women in motion pictures (also other aspects of motion pictures using in motion pictures)
 

Guided Searching in LUCIA

Guided Search lets you look for materials owned by the library by keywords, language, type of item, date of publication, or any combination of these. For example, use Subject Keywords to specify motion pictures as the topic of the books, and Material Type to select books.

Results of this kind of search are displayed in descending chronological order, that is, with the newest titles first.

 

Finding Articles

The best index to use will depend on your topic. Be sure to check the Electronic Resources page for other options.

Once you have a citation for an article on your topic, try using the SFX button button. If you don't find it, you can submit a request for interlibrary loan (ILL) of a copy of the article: ILL takes about 7-10 days, so plan ahead. See the library's Interlibrary Loan page for more information.

Don't forget that the library still receives a significant number of publications in paper; these are housed on Level A (between the first and second floors of the library). You will want to search the library catalog for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) to see if the library owns the volume you need.

Databases for Articles and More

  • Film & Television Literature Index
    Includes indexing and full text for selected books and periodicals on film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
  • MLA Bibliography
    A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and more.
  • Academic Search Premier
    A multi-disciplinary database which offers full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world in the broad field of humanities.
  • Humanities
    More related databases from the library.
  • Fine Arts
    Databases from the library related to creative arts.

Citation and Annotation

 

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides access to materials needed for academic research that are not accessible through the Seeley G. Mudd Library. This service is available to all students, staff, and faculty of the Lawrence University community at no charge.

Log in to here to your ILLiad Interlibrary Loan account with your Lawrence University username and password.




 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

Librarians are available at the Reference Desk during the following times.

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Gretchen Revie
Contact Info
Library 127
Phone: (920) 832-6730
Send Email
UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip