This guide provides a variety of resources for those interested in video game studies research, using games in an educational setting, and the Lawrence University gaming community.
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2015
- Ada: A Journal of Gender, New Media & Technology
"Ada is a product of the Fembot Collective and published and preserved through the University of Oregon Libraries." Peer-reviewed.
- Eludamos. Journal for Computer Game Culture
Peer-reviewed articles about electronic games in their sociocultural-historical contexts.
- Game Studies: The international journal of computer game research
Peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal about computer game research.
- Games and Culture
"Games and Culture, peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is an international journal that promotes innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within interactive media."
- Journal of Virtual Worlds Research
"The Journal of Virtual Worlds Research is a transdisciplinary journal that engages a wide spectrum of scholarship and welcomes contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that intersect virtual worlds research." Peer reviewed.
- New Media and Society
"New Media & Society is a top-ranked, peer-reviewed, international journal that publishes key research from communication, media and cultural studies, as well as sociology, geography, anthropology, economics, the political and information sciences and the humanities."
- Transactions of the Digital Games Research Association
A quarterly, international, open access, refereed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to research on and practice in all aspects of games.
- Well Played: a journal on video games, value and meaning
"The Well Played Journal is a forum for in-depth close readings of video games that parse out the various meanings to be found in the experience of playing a game. It is a reviewed journal open to submissions that will be released on a regular basis with high-quality essays."
The field of video game studies is a wide-reaching and multidisciplinary field. Relevant resources can be found in a wide variety of databases.
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database which offers full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Access provided through BadgerLink.
- Business Source Premier
Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Access provided through BadgerLink.
- Citation Searching: Web of Science
Formerly Web of Knowledge. Interface for searching all databases on Web of Science and more. Includes the number of times articles have been cited.
- Film & Television Literature Index
Indexing and full text for selected books and periodicals on film and television.
Archival online full-text journals covering many academic subjects.
- MLA Bibliography
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film, folklore, and more.
- Project Muse
Online full-text journals covering many academic disciplines.
An index to all PsycINFO journal, book, and chapter records from 1887 to present.
- Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Topics include: culture and social structure, economic development, management and complex organizations, and more.
"A large searchable & comprehensive database which provides a WIP list of known antique & modern, rare, prototype, non-released and released arcade games from all over the world."
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library:
ACM, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession.
- Cover Browser
Images of covers from books, comics, video games, and more.
- Entertainment Software Association
Research conducted by the Entertainment Software Association. (Keep in mind, this organization is funded by game companies.)
- Flow TV
An "online journal of television and media studies." "Flow’s mission is to provide a space where researchers, "teachers, students, and the public can read about and discuss the changing landscape of contemporary media at the speed that media moves.
- Games+Learning+Society Conference Proceedings
Proceedings from the 7th annual GLS conference. This conference covers gaming from educational to social. Proceedings can be downloaded for free, or a paper copy can be purchased.
- Internet Archive Software Collection
"The collection includes a broad range of software related materials including shareware, freeware, video news releases about software titles, speed runs of actual software game play, previews and promos for software games, high-score and skill replays of various game genres, and the art of filmmaking with real-time computer game engines."
- Kill Screen
"Kill Screen is a videogame arts and culture company. At its heart, we're interested in the intersection between games, play, and other seats of culture from art to music to design."
- List of Game Based Learning / Serious Games Journals
From the blog, Learning Games.
- Pew Internet & American Life Project
The Pew Internet and American Life study looks at how the internet impacts the lives of Americans. This site is a great resource for facts and statistics. The link will direct to study results related to gaming.
- PlayOn: Exploring the Social Dimensions of Virtual Worlds
Blog about longitudinal research in World of Warcraft conducted by researchers at the Palo Alto Research Center.
- TED Talks
TED provides short presentations by some of the brightest people in a wide variety of occupations and disciplines. The link directs to TED videos pertaining specifically to gaming.
- Top Score
"Host Emily Reese takes an in-depth listen to video game music and talks with the people who make it." From Minnesota Public Radio.
- Well Played 3.0: Video Games, Value and Meaning
Free downloadable e-book. This book is an anthology of articles related to the experience of game play and the values and meanings we derive from them.
Click the links below to browse a variety of related subjects in our library catalog.
Below is a select list of gaming related resources available at the Mudd Library. Click on the resource title to see the item's record in the library catalog.
Second Skin (DVD)
Call Number: GV1469.17 .S63 S43 2009 [DVD]
Documentary about digital cultures.