This is the "Background" page of the "History 361: Western Encounters with China: Perceptions and Misperceptions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 361: Western Encounters with China: Perceptions and Misperceptions   Tags: china  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/hist361 Print Guide

Background Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

During the school year, librarians are available at the Reference Desk during the following times.

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

 

About this Guide

The sources listed in this guide were chosen for the relevant coverage they provide, but these are only a few starting points for your research. Direct links are provided to Internet resources and searchable databases, as well as links to the library's online catalog.

As always, if you have any questions be sure to ask a Reference Librarian.

Background

  • Credo Reference
    Provides hundreds of reference titles covering a wide range of subjects. Includes full text, images, sound files, maps and more.
  • Brill's Encyclopedia of China
    Reference DS755 .G7613 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Chinese-American Relations
    "Contains more than 400 descriptive entries of important events, issues, personalities, controversies, treaties, agreements, organizations and alliances in the history of Sino-American relations, from Chinese and American perspectives." Online through Credo Reference.
  • Dictionary of Historic Documents
    Reference D9 .D525 2003
    Useful to both identify primary sources from different time periods and to learn a little bit about them. Includes indexes by topic and by geographic region.
  • The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
    Reference Z6201 .A55 1995
    Two volumes, arranged by time period and region of the world. Each section provides an overview of the historical writing on the period or region covered, with brief annotations on each work mentioned. Arranged by topic; be sure to use the index at the end of Volume 2 for full coverage.
 

Context

Hutchinson Chronicle


You may want to look at sources like the Hutchinson Chronology of World History (Ref. D11 .M39 1999) for useful contextual information. These may provide you with the kind of background information that will help you develop a more complicated reading and a more sophisticated approach to your primary material.

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip