This is the "Background & Scholarly Sources" page of the "History 460: The Era of the American Revolution" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 460: The Era of the American Revolution   Tags: american history  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/hist460b Print Guide

Background & Scholarly Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Background

 

Finding Books

To find items owned by the library, search the library catalog. By default you will be searching by keywords.

Using the Browse Search is another good strategy. You can browse By subject, By author, or By title. Browsing by subject may be particularly useful; try a subject browse for united states history revolution. To find books about particular people, browse by subject using the person's last name. Here are just a few other subjects that might be useful to browse:

  • United States -- History -- Colonial period
  • United States -- Politics and government -- To 1775
  • United States -- Politics and government -- 1775-1783
  • United States -- Politics and government -- 1783-1809
  • United States. Constitutional Convention (1787)
  • Constitutional history -- United States
  • Revolutionaries -- United States -- 18th century
  • Sons of Liberty
  • Boston Tea Party, 1773

Be sure to ask a librarian for other ideas, or consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), a guide to the terms commonly used in catalogs like ours. The LCSH can be found on the web at the Library of Congress Authorities or the Library of Congress Subject Headings or on the shelves behind the reference desk on the first floor of the library.

Books are arranged on the library's shelves by Library of Congress Classification. This is a system which organizes materials by general subjects. Once you have a call number from searching the library catalog, see this guide to call number locations at Mudd and the library floor maps to find out where a book might be on the shelves.

Search our library catalog for materials in our library; try WorldCat to find materials beyond the Mudd. Make sure you've thoroughly searched our library before going to WorldCat. See a reference librarian if you need help.

Databases for Articles and More

  • America: History and Life
    The most important index to the scholarly literature of American history, in books and proceedings as well as journals. Includes short summaries of the works indexed. America: History and Life includes material on the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • Art & Humanities Citation Index
    A citation index to arts and humanities journals.
  • Humanities
    More related databases from the library.
 

Finding Articles

The best index to use will depend on your topic. Be sure to check the Electronic Resources page for other options.

Once you have a citation for an article on your topic, try using the SFX button button. If you don't find it, you can submit a request for interlibrary loan (ILL) of a copy of the article: ILL takes about 7-10 days, so plan ahead. See the library's Interlibrary Loan page for more information.

Don't forget that the library still receives a significant number of publications in paper; these are housed on Level A (between the first and second floors of the library). You will want to search the library catalog for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) to see if the library owns the volume you need.

 

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides access to materials needed for academic research that are not accessible through the Seeley G. Mudd Library. This service is available to all students, staff, and faculty of the Lawrence University community at no charge.

Log in here to your Interlibrary Loan account with your Lawrence University username and password.

 

About this Guide

The sources listed in this guide were chosen for the relevant coverage they provide, but these are only a few starting points for your research. Direct links are provided to Internet resources and searchable databases, as well as links to the library's online catalog.

As always, if you have any questions be sure to ask a Reference Librarian.

Evaluation, Citation, & Annotation

 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

During the school year, librarians are available at the Reference Desk during the following times.

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Gretchen Revie
Contact Info
Library 127
Phone: (920) 832-6730
Send Email
UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip