This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics 650: Senior Seminar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics 650: Senior Seminar  

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/ling650 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Background

 

Finding Books

To find items owned by the library, search LUCIA. Try Title begins with, Author, Subject begins with or Keyword Anywhere searching. Subject begins with and Keyword Anywhere may be particularly useful for your research. For advanced research you should consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings, or LCSH, a guide to the terms commonly used in catalogs like ours. The LCSH can be found on the shelves behind the reference desk on the first floor of the library or online from the Library of Congress.

Books are arranged on the library's shelves by Library of Congress Classification. This is a system which organizes materials by general subjects. Once you have a call number from searching LUCIA, see this guide to call number locations at Mudd and the library floor maps to find out where a book might be on the shelves.

Search LUCIA for materials in our library; try WorldCat to find materials beyond the Mudd. Make sure you've thoroughly searched our library before going to WorldCat. See a reference librarian if you need help.

 

Finding Articles

The best index to use will depend on your topic. Be sure to check the Electronic Resources page for other options.

Once you have a citation for an article on your topic, try using the SFX button button. If you don't find it, you can submit a request for interlibrary loan (ILL) of a copy of the article: ILL takes about 7-10 days, so plan ahead. See the library's Interlibrary Loan page for more information.

Don't forget that the library still receives a significant number of publications in paper; these are housed on Level A (between the first and second floors of the library). You will want to search the library catalog for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) to see if the library owns the volume you need.

Databases for Articles and More

  • Academic Search Premier
    A multi-disciplinary database which offers full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Anthropology Plus
    A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource offers access to citations that cover articles published from the early 19th century to the present, in multiple languages.
  • AnthroSource
    "An online service of American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline."
  • Humanities International Complete
    Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world in the broad field of humanities.
  • MLA Bibliography
    A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and more.
  • PsycInfo
    The essential index to the literature of psychology. PsycINFO contains bibliographic references and summaries of the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Topics include culture and social structure, linguistics and sociolinguistics, and more.

Multidisciplinary Indexes

These include citations and some full text of materials from a broad variety of fields. Some provide full text of materials. Topics covered include literature, history, current news articles, and reviews of books and motion pictures.

  • Academic OneFile
    General periodical index with many full-text titles. Covers 1980 - present; updated daily.
  • Academic Search Premier
    A multi-disciplinary database which offers full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Access provided through BadgerLink.
  • Humanities
    A list of more related databases from the library.
  • Social Sciences
    A listing of databases from the library in the social sciences.
  • Newspapers
    A guide to newspapers on the web and from library databases.
  • Google Scholar
    If you're going to Google, do it here. Look for he label Full Text @LU to locate things that might be available here.

Citation Searching

Citation indexes allow you to search for articles and books using keywords, but more importantly they help you find out how often and where particular works have been cited in other authors' bibliographies.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    Provides access to indexing for important titles in various disciplines over the past ten years. Author abstracts are provided for more than half of the articles included.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    A multi-disciplinary citation index in the social sciences. The social science counterpart to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference lets you search for concepts by keyword. It searches such titles as this one, the Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics

Citation and Annotation

 

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides access to materials needed for academic research that are not accessible through the Seeley G. Mudd Library. This service is available to all students, staff, and faculty of the Lawrence University community at no charge.

Log in here to your Interlibrary Loan account with your Lawrence University username and password.

 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

During the school year, librarians are available at the Reference Desk during the following times.

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Gretchen Revie
Contact Info
Library 127
Phone: (920) 832-6730
Send Email
UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip