This guide was created out of a variety of links to websites that were discovered while looking for obscure things people have requested through interlibrary loan.
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2016
- Acta Chemica Scandinavica
Archive of 1947-1999
- Communications in Information Literacy
"An open-access, independent, peer-reviewed journal on information literacy in institutions of higher education."
- Disability Studies Quarterly
"Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities."
- Education Libraries
"Education Libraries is an electronic, refereed journal of the Education Division of the Special Libraries Association (SLA). It provides a forum for new and challenging ideas in the education field as well as in the field of library and information science education."
- Environmental Geology
Just a few open access articles.
"Environmental Geology is an international multidisciplinary journal concerned with all aspects of interactions between humans, ecosystems and the earth."
"Humanity is a peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to publishing original research and reflection on human rights, humanitarianism, and development in the modern and contemporary world."
- Journal on the Art of Record Production
"The Journal on the Art of Record Production (JARP) is an international online peer-reviewed journal promoting the interdisciplinary study of record production. The journal publishes peer reviewed research papers, conference papers, interviews and reviews with contributions from world-renowned industry professionals."
- Open Space Magazine
"The Open Space Web Magazine is trying to cultivate a new territory in the world of creative discourse, to produce a magazine of exploratory thoughts and ideas, formulated in languages and media beyond the reach of conventional print and discursive language. We hope to create a wholly new type of “publication” with the community of contributions this could inspire."
- Psychologica Belgica
Free content between 2004-current.
"Psychologica Belgica is the flagship journal of the Belgian Association for Psychological Science. It appears quarterly and publishes peer-reviewed scientific contributions to all domains of psychology as well as book reviews."
- Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain
"Psychomusicology: Music, Mind, and Brain is a journal of research in music cognition and reports important new scientific work in the area of music and cognitive science, neuroscience, and cognitive musicology."
- Span: Journal of the South Pacific Association for Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies
- Weber Studies
"A biannual journal, informing the culture and environment of the contemporary West."
"Xchanges is an interdisciplinary Technical Communication, Writing/Rhetoric, and Writing Across the Curriculum journal."
"BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library."
- DOAJ- Directory of Open Access Journals
"Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages."
- HighWire Free Online Full-text Articles
List of science-related journals published by HighWire, with free access to all or some articles.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations
"OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 1,853,785 theses and dissertations."
- Open Journal Systems
List of journals using the Open Journal System- part of the Public Knowledge Project.
"PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
- ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Database of open access scholarly resources that have been compiled by the ISSN network.
- Bright Lights Film Journal
"Bright Lights is one of the most widely read, quoted, and respected movie sites on the Web, mixing savvy pop reviews with in-depth analysis of current and classic, edgy and indie, international and experimental cinema - with wit and a political edge."
- Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship
"The Comics Grid is a collaborative, open peer-reviewed online academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship. Its purpose is to make original contributions to the field of comics scholarship and to advance the appreciation of comic art within academia and the general cultural mediascape."
- Eludamos: Journal for Computer Game Culture
"Eludamos is an international, multi-disciplined, biannual e-journal that publishes peer-reviewed articles that theoretically and/or empirically deal with digital games in their manifold appearances and their sociocultural-historical contexts."
- Game Studies
"To explore the rich cultural genre of games; to give scholars a peer-reviewed forum for their ideas and theories; to provide an academic channel for the ongoing discussions on games and gaming."
- Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media
"Begun in 1974 as a film publication, JUMP CUT now publishes material on film, television, video, new media, and related media and cultural analysis."
- Kill Screen
"Kill Screen is a videogame arts and culture company. At its heart, we're interested in the intersection between games, play, and other seats of culture from art to music to design."
- Revista Film-Historia
Spanish language film history journal.
- Senses of Cinema
"Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema."