This is the "Finding Physics Journals and Articles" page of the "Physics 330: Advanced Laboratory" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics 330: Advanced Laboratory   Tags: science journals  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/phys330 Print Guide
Finding Physics Journals and Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Gretchen Revie
Contact Info
Library 127
Phone: (920) 832-6730
Send Email
 

Finding Articles in Physics

Don't forget that the library still receives a significant number of publications in paper; these are housed on Level A (between the first and second floors of the library). FindIt will indicate items received in paper with a line that says Check for a print copy in LUCIA.

To save yourself time, if you can't locate an article ask a reference librarian for assistance. In addition to helping you locate paper and electronic copies of publications, the librarians can also help you make the best use possible of Interlibrary Loan. For more information on Interlibrary Loan, or ILL, see the library's ILL page.

 

Places to Begin

If you are looking for a specific journal you may want to begin with LUCIA, the library's online listing of all items we own or have through electronic subscription. A Title begins with search for journals like Physical Review Letters, Nature, or Science will locate all or our paper and online versions of these publications.

Search LUCIA using the Guided Search option. Search for physics and set the Material type to Serials. You will get a list of our paper and electronic subscriptions.

Try looking at the Journal Articles link from the library home page and use these:

  • FindIt: search for specific titles. Locates paper journals in the library and electronic full text from a number of our databases.
  • e-Journal Find: search for specific titles of electronic journals. The category browse lets you look for journals in physics.

Databases

Go to the Electronic Resources page. There is a long list of databases, including a section of resources in the sciences. A few to try include these:

Open Access Sources

Some resources on the open web may be helpful.

  • arXiv.org
    Open access to nearly 700,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics. From Cornell University.
  • DOAJ- Directory of Open Access Journals
    "Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages."
  • HighWire Press
    A large repository for both subscription and open access journal articles. Linking to the library's subscription journals is provided. Areas covered include: biological sciences, medical sciences, and physical sciences.
  • Scirus
    "The most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web." Allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
  • Google Scholar
    If you're going to Google, do it here. Look for he label Full Text @LU to locate things that might be available here.
 

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides access to materials needed for academic research that are not accessible through the Seeley G. Mudd Library. This service is available to all students, staff, and faculty of the Lawrence University community at no charge.

Log in to here to your ILLiad Interlibrary Loan account with your Lawrence University username and password.



UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip