This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Quick Reference: Facts and Helpful Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Quick Reference: Facts and Helpful Information   Tags: dictionaries, e-resources, encyclopedias, reference, statistics  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/quickref Print Guide

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • Britannica Online
    The electronic version of the classic reference work. You can either search for terms or browse the alphabetical list of entries.
  • Credo Reference
    Hundreds of reference titles covering a wide range of subjects. Includes full text, images, sound files, maps and more.
  • Merriam Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
    A free online version of the Merriam Webster basic reference books. If you are annoyed by ads, you might want to try the version of the dictionary available through our Britannica Online subscription.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The OED is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150.
 

About Quick Reference

Back in the days of yore the term "desk reference" was used for the important sources many people kept at hand on their real-world desktop--things like a dictionary, an almanac, or a style guide. The sources presented here are electronic versions of those tools and more. Some are provided through library subscriptions, while others are available to all users for free, and may include advertising.

Basic Tools

 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip