This is the "Home" page of the "Russian 650: Senior Seminar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Russian 650: Senior Seminar  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/russ650 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Track Your Progress

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager provided by the library. Our subscription to RefWorks lets you create a database of your research. Entries, including abstracts of articles, can be downloaded directly from a number of online research sources, or you can create records for articles, books, websites, and more. RefWorks has the added benefit of allowing you to include notes on your research. Bibliographies can be drafted from the entries in your RefWorks database in AAA, ACS, APA, Chicago, and MLA style, plus dozens of formats for publication in specific journals.

 

Locating Articles

The best index to use will depend on your topic. Be sure to check the Electronic Resources page for other options.

Once you have a citation for an article on your topic, try using the Find it @ LU link or search Citation Linker to see if that particular article is available. If you don't find it, you can submit a request for interlibrary loan (ILL) of a copy of the article: ILL takes about 7-10 days, so plan ahead. See the library's Interlibrary Loan page for more information.

Don't forget that the library still receives a significant number of publications in paper; these are housed on Level A (between the first and second floors of the library). You will want to search the library catalog for the title of the journal or book (not the title of the article or chapter) to see if the library owns the volume you need.

 

Evaluate What You Find

Evaluating the resources you find is an essential part of the research process. See this guide to hints on evaluation of books and articles and this guide to evaluating Internet resources.

Databases for Articles and More

  • ABSEES
    The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, 1990-present.
  • MLA Bibliography
    A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and more.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
  • Film & Television Literature Index
    Includes indexing and full text for selected books and periodicals on film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
  • World Wide Political Science Abstracts
    Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the literature in political science.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    A citation index to arts and humanities journals.
 

Searching the Library Catalog

While searching the catalog is an important way to locate books on your topic, you can also browse the shelves. For books related to Russian history, try the DK call numbers; for books related to Russian language and literature, try the PG call numbers. You can look for these in both the reference collection on the first floor and the main circulating collection. In the main collection DK call numbers will be on the fourth floor while PG call numbers will be on the third floor.

To find items owned by the library, search the library catalog. By default you will be searching by keywords.

In a keyword search, the catalog will look for the terms you specify anywhere in the important areas of the cataloging records, and display a list of those records. Be sure to ask a librarian for ideas for keywords, or consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), a guide to the terms commonly used in catalogs like ours. The LCSH can be found on the dictionary stand immediatly behind the reference desk on the first floor of the library.

Be aware that you may need to think carefully about the terms to search. Depending on the time period you are researching, you may need to use a search for Soviet Union as well as a search for Russia.

Advanced Search

A good way to locate materials is to use the Advanced Search and use multiple search fields, as in this example:

With the Advanced search you can also include terms using the in subject option rather than Any as above.

More

Books are arranged on the library's shelves by Library of Congress Classification. This is a system which organizes materials by general subjects. Once you have a call number from searching the library catalog, see this guide to call number locations at Mudd and the library floor maps to find out where a book might be on the shelves.

Search our library catalog for materials in our library; try WorldCat to find materials beyond the Mudd. Make sure you've thoroughly searched our library before going to WorldCat. See a reference librarian if you need help.

 

OneSearch

OneSearch helps you find multiple kinds of resources at once, like online resources such as journal articles and images, as well as those found in the library (books, DVDs, scores, etc.), from a single search interface. It is especially useful when you are beginning your research or researching a topic that may be addressed by multiple scholarly fields.

Be sure to sign in with your Lawrence username and password prior to using OneSearch. Many resources, as well as interlibrary loan and library account options, only appear after you have signed in.

Some OneSearch hints:

  • Use double quotation marks to find phrases, for example, "post soviet".
  • Use an asterisk to find multiple word endings. A search for femini* will find items containing the words feminine, femininity, feminism, and so on.
  • For more complicated boolean searching, type logical operators like AND and OR in capital letters
  • Try different ways of displaying your results using the Sorted by pull down at the top of the results list.
  • Use Expand my results at the top of the column on the left to find articles that my not be provided in full text in OneSearch. These will include items that might be on the library shelves or materials available through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Use Refine My Results, also in the left column, to narrow your results to different resource types, subjects, publication dates, and more.

More Choices for Databases

  • Humanities
    More related databases from the library.
  • Fine Arts
    Databases from the library related to creative arts.
  • News & Newspapers
    Databases from the library, including full text of many titles.
  • Social Sciences
    Databases related to International Relations and Psychology can be found here.

Citation and Annotation

 

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that provides access to materials needed for academic research that are not accessible through the Seeley G. Mudd Library. This service is available to all students, staff, and faculty of the Lawrence University community at no charge.

Log in here to your ILLiad Interlibrary Loan account with your Lawrence University username and password.

 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

Librarians are available at the Reference Desk during the following times.

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip