This is the "General Image Collections" page of the "Topics from Image Databases on the Web" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Topics from Image Databases on the Web   Tags: image collections  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/topics Print Guide

General Image Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Image Collections

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services from the Library of Congress
National Gallery of Art- NGA Images
Designed by Gallery experts to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration, NGA Images features more than 20,000 open access digital images, up to 3,000 pixels each, available free of charge for download and use. The resource is easily accessible through the Gallery's website, and a standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. Users may search by keyword in the Quick Search box on the home page of NGA Images, or they may browse the regularly updated "featured" image collections prepared by Gallery staff on topics such as 19th-century French art or frequently requested works.
WorldImages Kiosk from SJSU
The WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. It is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes.
Shared Shelf Commons
            Discover images from libraries, archives, and museums around the world. Shared Shelf Commons is a free,
            open-access library of images.
ImageNet
ImageNet is an ongoing research effort to provide researchers around the world an easily accessible image database.
Getty Images
            Find high resolution royalty free images, editorial stock photos, vector art, video footage clips and stock music licensing at the
            richest image search photo library
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Smithsonian Institution Collection Search Center
Search over 2 million records with 275,200 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
Luna Commons
The LUNA Commons is where public collections are aggregated and viewed in the LUNA browser. The LUNA Commons provides free access to hundreds of thousands of images from reputable sources for educational and public use.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
John Martin Rare Book Room Images
These unique sets of several hundred images from the 5,000 volume John Martin Rare Book Room have been selected from some of the more striking works in the collection and include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics.
Metripolitan Museum of Art
            Find out how you can use images from the MET. Search the MET Collections
accessCeramics
accessCeramics is a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.
Library of Congress Flikr Photostream
Art Images for College Teaching
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
Visual Resources Association Pool
Flickr photostream of images taken by Visual Resources Professionals. This collection contains images of public sculpture, architecture and art.
Archiplanet
archiplanet.org is a wiki that offers photos and facts on architectural structures, from your house to the latest skyscraper. This site is organized with different sections, such as houses, buildings, images, skyscrapers, architects, architecture firms, construction firms, countries, cities, great buildings, historic buildings and many other divisions.
Rich Electronic Archive for Language Instruction (REALIA) Project
The REALIA Project publishes faculty-reviewed media for the teaching and study of modern languages and cultures. Faculty and students at all levels are encouraged to contribute materials to our searchable, online database. The focus of the REALIA Project is realia: Materials which convey the everyday life of different cultures.
Public Domain Pictures
PublicDomainPictures.net is a repository for free public domain photos.
CONTENTdm Collection of Collections
Here you will find records representing a sampling of collections created by the hundreds of libraries and cultural heritage organizations using CONTENTdm today. Some records represent individual collections; some connect you to entire digital libraries. Each record attempts to describe the breadth and depth of the resources you will find when you access the site using the URL listed in each record.
Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs Collection
The Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs Collection is comprised of approximately 13,000 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century photographs of architecture, decorative arts, and sculpture.
Vincent van Gogh The Letters
All 902 letters from and to Vincent Van Gogh, richly annotated and illustrated, with new transcriptions and translations.
DK Clip Art
DK's free clip art site will help support class and homework activities with downloads of DK's photographs that can be included in school projects. They can also be used just for fun!
Britannica Image Quest
All images in Image Quest are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use— great for teacher lessons plans, assignments, activities, and whiteboards; student reports and projects; or school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.
morgueFILE
(stock photos)
IMAGE*AFTER
(stock photos)
stock.xchng
(stock photos)

Visual Resources Librarian

Profile Image
Colette Lunday Brautigam
Contact Info
Wriston Art Center 213
Phone: (920) 993-6043
Send Email
 

Lawrence Digital Collections

Digital Image Collections: resources from the Lawrence Visual Resources Library
 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip