This is the "Resources for Healthy Living" page of the "Wellness" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Wellness   Tags: health, wellness  

Links, books, videos, and more on wellness from the Mudd Library
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.lawrence.edu/wellness Print Guide
Resources for Healthy Living Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Wellness Viewing

Here is just a sample of the videos and DVDs the library owns on fitness. We have a growing collection of yoga and exercise instructional materials in multiple viewing formats. To locate even more, consult our page on finding videos

Cover Art
Dance Fitness for Beginners: African Beat, Latin Heat
Call Number: Media RA781.15 .D36 2005 [DVD]

Cover Art
Yoga for Beginners
Call Number: Media RA781.7 .Y64 2010 [DVD]

 

Books & More

To find any items (books, videos, sound recordings, Wii games, and more) owned by the library, search LUCIA. Try Title begins with, Author, Subject begins with or Keyword Anywhere searching.

Title begins with
These searches will let you see if we own an item whose title you already know. This search works for titles of books, titles of scores, titles of movies, titles of journals (but not individual journal articles) and more.

Author
Use this search to find works created by the person named. Be sure to enter the last name first.

Subject begins with
Try a Subject begins with search for an idea or concept like health or yoga or meditation. LUCIA will list other subject headings (and subheadings) which may be of interest. Not all words related to wellness will be subject headings; check the Library of Congress Authorities if you want more ideas.

Keyword Anywhere
In this type of search, LUCIA will look for the terms you specify anywhere in the important areas of the cataloging records, and display a list of those records. Try a search for a term like mindfulness. Try a search for a phrase by searching with quotation marks around the phrase, as in "health promotion". You can search for individual terms connected by logical operators like AND or OR such as health and women. A Keyword Anywhere search for Wii will find games in our collection.

Books are arranged on the library's shelves by Library of Congress Classification. This is a system which organizes materials by general subjects. Once you have a call number from searching LUCIA, see this guide to call number locations at Mudd and the library floor maps to find out where a book might be on the shelves.

Articles & More

The databases below represent a selection of titles from the library's subscriptions. Be sure to check the Electronic Resources page for other options.

We also have a number of sports and recreation magazines located in the Popular Magazine and Newspapers area on the 1st floor of the library near the New Books shelves. Titles include Sports Illustrated, Tennis, Bicycling and Silent Sports.

  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information
    Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    A collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    Provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
  • Academic Search Premier
    A multi-disciplinary database which offers full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Wellness onthe Web

  • What's In The Foods You Eat
    Provides detailed nutrient profiles for 13,000 foods commonly eaten in the U.S.
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends.
  • National Library of Medicine
    The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. It is the world’s largest biomedical library.
  • National Institutes of Health
    The nation's major medical research agency.
  • National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
    (NCCAM) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
  • IPL--Health and Medical Sciences
    Information compiled by the ipl2, a project of the Internet Public Library, Librarians' Internet Index, Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science.
 

Quick Health Information

Credo Reference: Medicine

Credo, a database of hundreds of reference books, includes many titles in the area of medicine. These range from basic medical dictionaries to titles like these.

Wellness at Lawrence

 

Contact the Librarians

We're here to help!

Monday-Thursday:
8 a.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m-10 p.m.
Friday:
8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m.-5 p.m.
6 p.m.-10 p.m.

Phone: (920) 832-6752

Website: The Library

Send Email

UA-11274999-2
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip